top of page
Search
Writer's pictureAshley Yu

Week 3 Reflection Blog: Habits of Mind


Curiosity: For the past three weeks, I was curious on learning about how Disney impacts our lives.

Openness: I have been willing to consider new ways in looking at Disney. I have always seen it as just fairy tales for children instead of some sort of social constructions that shaped how we think and who we are.

Engagement: Through writing and reading blogs, I feel more engaged in this course than many of my other courses.

Creativity: Again, by writing these blogs, we get to explore our creativity unlike other English/writing classes I have taken before where we simply annotate some Shakespearean texts and talk about how blood symbolized the sins of Lady Macbeth.

Persistence: My groupmates and I have just exchanged our social media and created our group chat. We have not done much yet but it is a start.

Flexibility: Due to pandemic, all of us have transitioned into online learning. The way I have adapted was by taking asynchronous classes and working on my own pace.

Responsibility: One of the most important thing to avoid in college is plagiarism. Therefore, it is crucial for us to understand what it is and what the consequences are. The one course objective I have been focusing on is the credibility of a source and how to cite them properly which connects back to how plagiarism can be avoided.

Metacognition (reflection): We have been writing a reflection blog every week. They help me remember what exactly I did throughout the week.


For the pictures this week, I took a screenshot of this current moment I am writing this and another on the current time in Los Angeles versus the current time where I am


.

13 views

Recent Posts

See All

Pre-Production Meeting Summary

Pre-Production Meeting Time and Date: Tuesday 7:00PM GMT+8 Group Member 1: Ashley Yu - Speaks in Elsa Anti-feminism Segment & Secondary...

Week 6 Blog: My Three Sources

Keira Knightley Bans Disney Movies for Daughter - ET Canada This is a podcast on ET Canada. The purpose of this podcast is to spread...

2 Comments


zebangx1
Jan 31, 2021

Hi, Ashley! I really appreciate your comments about the assignment, “Habits of Mind”. In your blog, you wen deeply about the habit, “Openness” which means you will consider some new ways about what these Disney films were talking about. I wrote about something similar and said that “Openness” was to opening your mind and found a different angle to analyze the whole articles or films.

Like

Tayven Auron Taylor
Tayven Auron Taylor
Jan 31, 2021

Hello Ashley, Nice to meet you! I also had to be more open and accepting to new ideas presented about Disney films. I watched the films as a child and its kind of tough having to look at Disney's negative side.

Like
bottom of page