top of page
Search
Writer's pictureAshley Yu

Week 1 Blog

Hi, my name is Ashley and I am from Taipei, Taiwan. I have been living here for my entire life and I attended an international school before I started my college life remotely at UCI. I am a first year computer science and engineering major. You can find more about me here.


The last English course I took before taking this class was Honors Contemporary Literature at my high school. The focus of the class was reading and analyzing contemporary literature. We read many books and short stories including Into the Wild, The Penelopiad, and Atonement. Instead of literary techniques, meditation and stress handling were in fact what I learned the most from that class. We meditate or get breakfast for the first 15 minutes of class fairly often and were assigned projects based on happiness and vlogs.


I think I am an average writer or communicator. It is definitely not my best subject but it is also not my focus. I am not great at delivery what I want to say or changing my tones which make my essays boring and jerky. All of my sentences are in the same structure; however, I excel in the overall big structure of the essay.


I did okay on the Language and Grammar Diagnostic at Connect. I had problems with identifying the paraphrasing part which were most of the problems I missed.


Syllabus: We should expect 12-14 hours of work every week. Plagiarism is strictly prohibited from the course.


Course Objectives: We should be confident of our reading skills. We should develop a better writing and reading habit.


Grade Contract: As long as we do the bare minimum, we are guaranteed with at least a B. There are extra credits opportunities if we need.

41 views

Recent Posts

See All

Pre-Production Meeting Summary

Pre-Production Meeting Time and Date: Tuesday 7:00PM GMT+8 Group Member 1: Ashley Yu - Speaks in Elsa Anti-feminism Segment & Secondary...

Week 6 Blog: My Three Sources

Keira Knightley Bans Disney Movies for Daughter - ET Canada This is a podcast on ET Canada. The purpose of this podcast is to spread...

4 ความคิดเห็น


mingchm
18 ม.ค. 2564

Hi Ashley, I really admire you that you have a great hobby which is reading. I really want to read some books but I just give up I a few days.

ถูกใจ

yuzhenl2
yuzhenl2
17 ม.ค. 2564

Hi Ashley!

I agree with part of your post. You mentioned that your sentence is all in one form. I got the same confusion too. However, I try to read other's work to learn how to write sentence in different forms. I think that it also help us for paraphrasing.

ถูกใจ

Jenny Kim
Jenny Kim
17 ม.ค. 2564

Hi Ashley,

The last English course I took was also a literature course in high school. Referring to what you wrote about being an average writer, so am I and hopefully we can improve our literacy skills through this course!

ถูกใจ

Cuiwen Zhou
Cuiwen Zhou
15 ม.ค. 2564

Hello, Ashley! I can resonate with you on the section that you describe your weaknesses and strengths as a writer and communicator. I am also better at organizing the overall structure of an essay rather than small details. Hopefully, both of us can do a better job on it after this course!

By the way, your guinea pigs are so cute!!!

ถูกใจ
bottom of page